Finding Solitude

I found myself in need of some introspection this weekend and as always, I sought out clarity and enlightenment in nature. More and more, I find myself drawn to trees swaying in the wind, their leaves rustling with every breeze – to the sound of waves lapping up against the shore, and toward the sound of birds chirping happily away on a glorious sunny day. This is where I find solace and sustenance, equally. This is where everything seems to come together for me. I think it’s because there is absolutely nothing fake about nature – it’s as authentic as it gets. I’m so sick and fucking tired of social media and all of its bullshit – of constantly having to be ‘ON’ or connected – of listening to inauthentic discourse from anyone and everyone. Just get real, already.

I awoke this morning with head and heart cluttered. My immediate response was to lace up and head out the door at 6:30, where I was greeted by sun and silence – the absolute perfect remedy. I’ve got this very specific walking route that allows me to avoid people and cars (well, for most of the walk, anyway), and that always leads me to my secret Zen spot. I don’t even need to think about it – my internal GPS automatically directs me there, and ‘there’ is where I ponder in peace, while appreciating the beauty of my surroundings. The reality is that my friends don’t always get me or understand what I need despite my clearly stating “I need X”, so I go inward and deal with shit on my own. This is when nature comes in handy. Isn’t this the perfect place to seek out answers? I think so. And no, I can’t tell you where this is – I’d have to kill you.

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

And last but not least, last week’s stress lead to much cursing and other assorted potty-mouthedness (Annism). This spoke very well to my state of mind:

photo

I’m not sure where this image originates from, but I got it via Reddit.

 

Peace,

A

 

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

