Vacating in VAnnCouver – Part 2

I believe the best way to check out a new city is to walk it and Vancouver is definitely made for that so one sunny morning, I set off for Stanley Park. The walk toward the park is a lovely one, so I think I lost track of time, but I’d say from downtown you’re looking at a 30-40 minute walk. I took Haro Street all the way to the end then crossed over to the seawall near Lost Lagoon. What I found there, besides runners, cyclists and roller-bladers, was a massive posse of ducks, geese, seagulls and pigeons lying/flying about (and shit – lots of shit). I should warn you: the seagulls and crows take flight without any warning and they’ve got a preference for flying low so watch your heads! I recommend wearing a hat and carrying a very large umbrella, to be used as a shit shield. You can also get to Stanley Park via the seawall, but you are looking at a few kilometers worth of walking. If I’m not mistaken, to walk the seawall around Stanley Park is about 10km. Totally doable on a nice day.

I made my way to Stanley Park from Lost Lagoon and headed to the Vancouver Aquarium. Good LORD. I don’t know why I assumed things would be quiet over there – it was like a fucking zoo! I found myself surrounded by millions of screaming, pushy little bastards and their know-no-boundaries parents! When I simply couldn’t take it anymore, I got the fuck out of there and headed outside to find some peace amongst the sea otters and penguins. Personally, I don’t really give a shit about fish and frogs anyway, but if that’s your kind of thing then you’ll enjoy the aquarium (indoors). It was much calmer outside so I spent some time hanging out with the dolphins and whales – they were feeling more Zen then the horde of little fuckers inside. The sea lions, on the other hand, were a little bitchy so expect to be told off if they’re not in the mood to be ogled. Oh, if you do go inside the aquarium, be sure to check out Jack and Daisy – two rescued harbor porpoises.  I think the aquarium is worth a visit, but recommend that you go first thing in the morning to avoid all the crazy assholes.

Lost Lagoon/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Lost Lagoon/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Lost Lagoon/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Lost Lagoon/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Lost Lagoon/ Photo: RAnnDomized

View of Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

View of Van City from Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

The seawall via Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Stanley Park/ Photo: RAnnDomized

To finish this one up, here are some photos of my favorite aquarium critters. I really wanted to bring Jack home with me but there was just no getting around that big glass box!

Vancouver Aquarium/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Vancouver Aquarium/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Vancouver Aquarium/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Vancouver Aquarium/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Vancouver Aquarium/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Vancouver Aquarium/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Jack! Perfect as a tub pet, no?

Vancouver Aquarium/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Vancouver Aquarium/ Photo: RAnnDomized

Stay tuned for part 3!

Namaste,

A

4 thoughts on “Vacating in VAnnCouver – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Seawalls on a Grey Day « Waxing Lyrical

  2. Pingback: Kitsilano, Yo – Part 4 « Waxing Lyrical

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

