Jean Paul, Part 1

I should start this post with a disclaimer: I am not a fashionista. I know fuck all about fashion, but I do know what looks good and what looks bad. While I may not be fashion-forward, I do pride myself on not looking like a fool when I leave the house. Check out this etiquette post to see whom I consider to have no fashion sense whatsoever (but beware the sarcasm and cursing – my trademark!).

The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts is currently hosting The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk, and I decided to check it out to see what all the hype was about. Gaultier is a well-known fashion icon, particularly known for his eccentric and artistic creations. That being said,  I expected to be a little more ‘wowed’ by this exhibit but sadly, was not. The exhibit was visually interesting, to be sure, but rather than beautiful, extravagant pieces of clothing, I found the collections to be a little bland. Each time I try to think of the best way to describe my feelings toward this exhibit, all that comes to mind is the word ‘dusty.’

The museum dedicated five rooms to display pieces from a variety of Gaultier’s collections. There were a few things that annoyed me about the exhibit besides the rude fuckers who kept pushing me or walking in front of me when I was trying to take pics. Clearly the self-professed fashion elitists were out and no one else existed in their universe, but them. Anyway.  The most annoying thing about the exhibit was the constant talking – there was audio everywhere. Much of it was associated to specific mannequins, while the rest was random mumbo jumbo that was played in each room. Yak, yak, yak – I felt like I was in a bloody asylum. Needless to say that this aspect of the exhibit was quite distracting to myself and my date. That being said, I did get a good laugh when I walked into the third room, because I was greeted by the sound of a bird cackling. The bird in question was a mannequin sporting a feathered top, and she sounded a little nuts. Reminded me of myself. Moving along…. I was also not a fan of the lighting used in this exhibit; while the rooms were dimly lit (isn’t the point of this exhibit to display the intricacies of each piece?), in some cases, I just felt like the light was  too harsh. I don’t know if it was the fabric or colors of the pieces that were being displayed, or the positioning of the lights, but it didn’t work for me. Perhaps the curators didn’t consider lighting when they set up the exhibit…. seems this would be a key factor but I digress.

Anyway, this isn’t so much  a review of the exhibit, but a post to share some of the pics I took. Unfortunately, I left my camera at home so had to use my BlackBerry – you’ll have to excuse the graininess and crazy contrast. So, have a look at Part 1 (Part 2 pics to come tomorrow) and let me know what you think. Do you love what you see? Or do these pieces leave you feeling indifferent? How do you feel about the lighting? Share your input!

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

By far, one of my favorites :-p

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

 

Check back tomorrow to see the last set of pics – unless of course, you really hated these ones :-p

 

Peace,
A

3 thoughts on “Jean Paul, Part 1

  1. Pingback: Jean Paul, Part 2 « Waxing Lyrical

    • They would’ve turned out better if I had my camera, but they’re not bad considering I used the BB. I’m on the fence about the lightening. It wasn’t my ideal setting.

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

