What I Did on my Summer Vacation – Part 1: Action!

Yeah I know – I’ve come up with more creative titles than this one!

I can likely offer up a bunch of meaningless excuses as to why I haven’t written in nearly two months, but the sad (or not-so-sad) truth is that I’ve been enjoying a fabulous summer in Montreal.  So, here I am, ready to write, hopeful that I’ve still got a few readers left. Still here? Good! Let’s get this show on the road – we’ve got a lot of catching up to do! Oh, I should mention that all of this took place pre-vacation.

 

Get on your mat!

First, this catch-up post wouldn’t be complete if I didn’t take a moment to talk about my yoga practice. Since April, I’ve really regained my focus (thanks Bram!), and have been practicing for 90-minutes, almost daily. To say that I feel amazing would be an understatement. I feel fan-fucking-tastic! While yoga is amazing for toning and shit, I no longer practice solely for the physical benefits that it brings me. I am much more focused on the spiritual, more mental side of things, and it’s made a big difference overall – not just mentally, but physically and emotionally as well. At the end of my practice, I feel super energized – but more importantly, I feel a profound sense of joy. Let’s not forget the added benefit of yoga making me more fucker-proof too. It totally rocks. More on that in a later post.

 

Let’s join the circus…

Last Spring, I spontaneously bought tickets to Le Cirque du Soleil’s latest show, Totem. The tickets weren’t cheap, but my gal pal and I decided to splurge, knowing the show would be worth it. On June 26th we stopped in at Le Grand Chapiteau to see what all the fuss was about – boy were we in for a surprise!  The show, whose main theme is evolution, was breathtaking – fantastic, stunning. AH-Mazing. Our seats were center-stage, about 20 rows up, with an unobstructed view of well, everything. That night, I became the ‘official’ ticket-buyer for all future shows – that’s how awesome our view was, according to my date (I don’t know how many times I refreshed my browser when making my seat selection – I was looking for a very specific spot!).  Unfortunately, cameras weren’t allowed, so I have no show pics to share with you (but hey, check out the tent below, LOL), but if you haven’t already seen this show, or any Cirque show for that matter, I highly recommend checking out what’s on in your city. Totem was brilliant; from the set design and intricate costumes, to the make-up and fabulous music, and of course, the badass performers – they didn’t miss a beat. Well worth the money – both my date and I would go see it again.

Poto: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

 

An overdose of candy…

A week after Totem, I took my 15-year old niece to her very first concert EVER. Before I tell you who we went to see, I’d like to remind you that I’m a diehard U2 fan.  OK… are you ready? For her first show EVER, Audrey picked…

Katy Perry

We checked out Perry’s California Dreams show at the Bell Center on July 2nd. Now, I like Katy Perry – she’s got great energy and catchy tunes. But I did have some reservations about the kind of people I’d encounter at this show. I could see myself surrounded by thousands of screaming teenage girls, all wearing pink. This is exactly what I got, but with an added bonus: the stench of cotton candy being pumped through the vents for 2.5 hours. Jesus! I thought I was going to pass the fuck out from the smell!  Anyway, when we got to our seats, I had a look around, and the first thing I thought was “Wow. That’s a small stage.” Then I thought “Wow. This is a lot of pink. Why are there muffins on-stage? Oh wait – are those cupcakes? What are those lollipops doing there, and what the hell is that pink, bumpy, square thing hovering in the middle of the arena?”  Anyway, fast-forwarding to the show: Perry put on a great performance and I was really impressed by her level of energy, her sense of humor, and her rapport with the audience. She did change outfits more often then any other artist I’ve seen but hey – everyone’s got their quirks. Perry played most of her hits and the crowd seemed to enjoy the show. More importantly, Audrey had a great time. Overall, I’d give Katy’s performance a high rating (notice how I don’t commit to an actual score, lol). Oh, and that hovering pink thing? It was a fake cloud that Perry used to transport herself from the main stage, to the other side of the arena. Kinda nifty, in a kitschy sort of way. To read a review of the show, click here.  Here’s a pretty decent video of KP performing Firework:

 

 

And last but not least…

The space ship is coming! The space is coming!

In September 2009, U2 played two shows at the Sky Dome in Toronto. Unfortunately, the 360 Tour wasn’t stopping in Montreal and this made me rather cranky because Montreal has a way better crowd than TO (sorry GTAers!). Well, it’ll be one cold day in hell before I miss a U2 show/tour – so I packed up my shit and headed for the T-Dot. LELELELELE!  Yes, I went to both shows, and yes I lined up forever in order to get the perfect spot on the floor! Such is the life of a U2 fan.

Not long after the TO shows, U2 announced dates for the second leg of the tour and Montreal was on the list for two nights in July 2010. The girls and I decided that we were also going to do TO (again) and New York (the last show of the tour). We were eager for July, but weeks before the first Montreal show, Bono had to undergo back surgery and all remaining dates in North America were canceled. Though understanding and supportive of Bono’s shit-uation, the U2 community was pretty disappointed by the news. Well, we waited almost two years to see the boys play again – and on July 8th and 9th, the space ship finally landed in Montreal.  Tune in tomorrow to hear all about the 360 madness…

Photo: RAnnDomized

3 thoughts on “What I Did on my Summer Vacation – Part 1: Action!

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

