Things That Make You Go Hmmm…

Someone once told me that, years ago, it was a perfectly acceptable thing to do business at your front door. That must have been a really long time ago, because when I hear a knock on the door these days, I fantasize about answering it wearing Braveheart face paint while wielding a pitchfork or a trident.

Preet Banerjee, Globe & Mail

I read this quote in the Globe & Mail this morning and it made me laugh; probably because that last bit sounds like something I would say under similar circumstances – however, I would include the call of the Bedouin to accompany the face paint. I’m pretty sure door-to-door salesmen would stop popping in unexpectedly.

After reading Banerjee’s article, it reminded me of all the random visitors that used to ring our doorbell when I was a kid, notably, the ex-cons, who would go door-to-door selling leather wallets that they’d made, or pens and other assorted, often useless crap. We had Girl Guides, Boy Scouts and school kids selling chocolate, and people who sold freshly picked strawberries. We were often visited by Jehovah’s Witnesses and Mormons too, who felt that the best way to spread religion was by going door to door and a) ask for money while b) insisting that we needed their brand of God to save us. Back then, people were more trusting – more willing to give a person the benefit of the doubt. Mom bought her fair share of wallets and the occasional pen from ex-cons in order to ‘help them get back on their feet’ (though religous nuts were kindly sent on their way). Can the same be said now? In this day and age, when the media constantly turns our eyes toward violence, scams, rip-off artists, the doctor turned murderer, the lover turned con man/woman, the mother who drowned her kid, elder abuse – does anyone really trust anyone anymore?Β  Do we have a reason to? Do you easily trust strangers? Do you give them the benefit of the doubt? Or are you more weary, cautious? Personally, I don’t answer my door unless I know someone specific is stopping in. There are just way to many nut jobs out there for me to take a chance. Similarly, I admit that when meeting new people, I maintain a certain level of suspicion until I’ve assessed that they’re good people and “trustworthy.”Β  Sleep with one eye open, I always say!
What do you guys think?

8 thoughts on “Things That Make You Go Hmmm…

  1. I’m more trusting in person. Most everyone gets the benefit of the doubt. At home, on the other hand, if I’m not expecting the lawn guy or a pizza I don’t open the door. Mostly because the certifiable neighbor from across the street scares me more than any excon or religious converter!

  2. As sad as it is the world is just different today, therefore our way of thinking needs to be different too. There’s just too much at stake not to be skeptical in certain situations. I became way more cautious after having kids.

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

