Grateful. Yeah, That’s Right!

So often, we focus our thoughts on the negative, while rarely pausing to think about the positive. It’s much easier to bitch and moan when things don’t go our way, then it is to acknowledge what we’ve been blessed with. How many of you pause to appreciate the little things? What kind of things make you happy? With the holidays fastly approaching and 2010 almost behind us, it’s the perfect time for me to look back at some of the things that I’ve been grateful for this year.

– First off, I’m pretty damn grateful that I finally got off my ass and started writing again after a very, very long hiatus. I’m much happier when I’m writing – though not so much when my inspiration is AWOL, or when it’s stuck inside my head screaming to get out.

– I’m beyond thrilled that I’ve been able to deepen my yoga practice this year. While this is a work in progress, I made some great progress that really motivated and inspired me in 2010. OK, having a crushed disc in my neck currently feels like I’ve taken 15 steps backward but hey, shit happens.

– One of the things that has truly inspired joy in me this year, is my new-found clarity and peace of mind. I’m convinced that this is yoga’s doing – I am now able to see the smallest of things and feel big appreciation for said thing(s). I’ve gone from a half-empty perspective to a half-full perspective. I so rock.

– I’m glad that I finally conquered my hesitation (not to be confused with fear) about practicing yoga in a studio (What if people look at me? What if they notice my flaws? BLAH BLAH BLAH). Who. Cares. But more specifically, I’m glad I started doing Moksha (hot yoga) after a year of procrastination and excuses. Yes, that’s on hold for now but this neck is bound to heal at some point!

– I’m grateful for some of the people that I’ve met via the blogging community. I didn’t expect to build friendships when I started blogging, but have been pleasantly surprised [Hello Jill & Jo! Hello Bram – I look forward to our first ‘date’ – especially now that I know you have a hot accent! ;-)].

– I am always, always grateful for my mom & dad, despite my occasional crank factor. They are amazing, inspirational people, who have always been present and active in myself and my brother’s lives. (Hello mum & dad! Mum, don’t cry for God’s sake!).

– As always, I love my dictionary of Annisms. I am thankful that I have the ability and creativity to come up with shit that most people will never think of. My friends can attest to this, and to appease your curiosity, I shall post the Dictionary of Annisms in the New Year. Friends: please email me your favorites because sadly, I think my age is impacting my memory. What? What do you mean I’m too young to develop Alzheimer’s? :-p

– I am so very grateful that my life isn’t like a soap opera. My GOD, it’s no wonder these people need face lifts and Botox with all that drama!

– I’m thankful that I’ve learned to let go.

– Lastly, I’m thankful that I know myself, that I know who I am, and that I’m happy with me. I leave you with this quote by my friend Dr. Seuss:

 

β€œToday you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

What are YOU thankful for? Come on people – talk to me!

20 thoughts on “Grateful. Yeah, That’s Right!

  1. Great post Ann!! I love it πŸ™‚
    In a time when we all have so much to complain about, and feel bad about, I do think it’s important to sit back and reflect on these good things, you never know when they may be taken away so we can’t take them for granted
    I am thankful for my life, my health, my new peace of mind and being, my family, my wonderful friends . I am thankful I kicked anxiety, that I quit smoking and that I now realize I am strong enough to walk away from a situation that is not good for me or is making me unhappy.

  2. I am thankful for every day that I get up able-bodied and sound mind. Even when I am feeling blue or not so well physically, I am thankful that I am able to feel these things because I am still here… to spend time with my family and friends. I am also thankful for those people who have let me down or done wrong because, from them, I have learned to be stronger and appreciate those who have been there for me even more! The negative – as well as the positive experiences – have made me who I am today… and for that I am most thankful!

    • Lisa, I’m with you on rejoicing even when things seem blah. Yesterday I was filling up the gas tank for the first time in my new car. I was rolling my eyes at the pump because I knew it was going to reach at least $100. I stopped myself and said “Be thankful that you have enough money to fill up your gas tank; some people don’t”. It takes some work, but we learn to be thankful in all situations:)

  3. Very nice, Ann. I think it’s not only important to recognize those things for which we are thankful, but writing them down takes it a step further. Of course, you know better than I, but I think that yoga allowed you to change your perspective. Practicing yoga alone won’t do that. Give yourself credit, friend.

    I am thankful for you, a fun and good friend:)

    • Thanks my friend πŸ™‚ For me, yoga has played a big part in changing my perspective, because what you apply during your practice, can also be applied in your everyday life. I read somewhere (a few times) that when you practice yoga, you’re outputting positive energy into the world – I reckon that some of it comes back to you as well πŸ™‚

  4. Great post my friend. I did more of a sarcastic twist on this, obviously, but am grateful for many things. First, thanks for the shout out. I am grateful for the friends I have made here because they have helped me to get back to me (the sarcastic bitch that I am- don’t hate, πŸ˜‰ ) And yes, you are one of those few peeps. I am thankful to have survived and conquered the two months the docs claimed I had left (still ticking). I am thankful my husband is the supporting asshole that he is (I love him dearly). I am thankful that I have the wonderful kids that I have (very thankful). We have a warm home, clothes on our back, food in our tummy, and we love each other. Doesn’t get any better than that.

    • These are wonderful things to be thankful for Jill! I particularly like how you affectionately referred to your hubs as an asshole! LMAO! Still laughing! I think I’ve got my wit back on – which should make for a sarcastic guest post πŸ˜€

    • Other then being thankful for being an asshole I think you sum it up best with our kids (including the 6 with 4 legs) and household. Most of all I thankful fir the fun we have and the people you’ve brought into your life even If not directly. Thanks Ann for helping her smile

  5. Digging it AT – digging it a lot πŸ˜‰

    I think this will come as no surprise to you that I am thankful for coming to terms with myself. Thankful for finally knowing who I am. Thankful for having the strength and force of will to travel along one of life’s most challenging roads. And I am thankful that I finally know what it is to feel like a person. A strange feeling when you’ve never known how it felt. I’m thankful I like it πŸ™‚

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

