Thursdays with Tori: Treasure

Good morning everyone!

Today marks the first day of a new monthly series on Waxing Lyrical. Each month, I’ll be featuring a piece of art by my good friend Tori. Her first piece is called Treasure, and here’s what she had to say about it:

I found this delightful flower in a car park in the middle of the Lake District while I was travelling up to Scotland for my sister’s wedding in May 2008. What attracted me to it was the form of the individual flowers, the way each petal was split down the centre, the way the shell of the bud was visible between each petal. My favourite flowers always seem to be definable by the number 5 and this one was a perfect example.

I forgot about the picture for a long time but recently I’ve been drawn to it, and it seemed to be the perfect way to start my art feature on Waxing Lyrical. The original photograph needed a lot of work to turn it into something artistic but I feel it was well worth it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

To see how Tori created this image, check out her before and after series here. You can also find Tori here and here.

Got something to say? Speak!

6 thoughts on “Thursdays with Tori: Treasure

  1. Pingback: Behind the Scenes: Just Add Zing « art by tori

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

