It’s Time to Reboot!

Over the last two weeks, my yoga practice and work-outs have taken a hit and I’ve been beating my head against the wall trying to figure out what my problem is (besides my assortment of injuries). Why do I feel a disconnect between mind and body? For those of you who lead an active lifestyle, you know how I feel;Β  you know how frustrating it is when you’re on a roll, hitting the gym regularly, practicing yoga a couple of times a week – or doing whatever it is that helps you ditch the stress of everyday life, and then one day, it all comes to a grinding halt and you’re left listening to that little voice inside your head that just won’t quit. Mine says things like:

Go to the gym! You look huge today!

You should do some yoga!

Go power walking – it’s nice out and you didn’t go the gym/yoga/ box – whatever.

Stop being lazy! You won’t achieve your goal if you don’t work out!

Turd alert! (this is when I’m feeling particularly turd-like)

I could go on but you get the point. That voice not only guilt-trips me all day long, but it also zones in on every self-perceived flaw that I think I have and picks away at them like a scab. My more reasonable side occasionally steps in to remind that annoying voice that I’ve got a knee injury and two tendinitis, and “why don’t you just SHUT UP already” but the annoying voice persists.

So, I’ve been feeling blocked – like my mind and body are at odds with one another. My mind wants one thing and my body constantly tells it to piss off. The fact that I’ve been in a fair amount of pain probably doesn’t help soften my body’s attitude toward me, nor do the work-outs that I’ve been doing regardless of said pain. But hey – I can’t let the annoying voice win, right? After all, society expects me to be perfect.

Because I want to get to the root of the problem and eventually move past it, I’ve been giving this a lot of thought and I came to the conclusion that I’m not dealing with a lack of motivation or desire. I want to work out, and I’m desperate to step onto my mat for more then 20 darn minutes. And, it’s important to me keep cultivating that Zenitude I’ve been working so hard to achieve – so, what’s the problem? Ah-HA! Light bulb moment.

My ‘blockage’ goes hand-in-hand with the feeling of being overwhelmed at everything I “have” to do: gym, yoga, hot yoga, power walk, eat properly, don’t eat, lose weight, gain weight – work, work, work because it’s peak season, stress, don’t stress, run around to this place and that place. Somehow, I always find myself double-booked because I don’t keep track of what I’ve got going on, which further adds to my stress. It never ends – and I know it’s not just me. Men and women in today’s society simply feel overwhelmed – like there aren’t enough hours in a day to do what needs to get done. So at what point do we say STOP? When do we switch ourselves off and make time for ourselves? When do we reboot?

Thinking about all if this lead me to the realization that I’m always ‘on.’ My brain never stops; even when I’m ‘sleeping’, I’m thinking about work crap or feeling anxious that I’ve lost my Zen. When I get on my mat, I’m thinking about the pervert next door or Stomping Tom upstairs (I will pay good money to the person who invents the OFF switch for my brain, let me tell you!) . I feel like I’m ‘on’ 24/7. I have a laptop that never shuts down, a BlackBerry that never gets turned off, a personal cell phone that beeps with every incoming text message, a constant influx of emails flying through cyberspace, Tweets, Stumbles, Diggs, Facebook. Like so many people today, I’m almost always connected, reachable, which means that there’s always something interfering with my energy flow. And that, ladies and gents, is what’s creating my mind/body disconnect. What’s the solution? Well for me, it means turning off the laptop and ignoring the BB once I’m done with work at 5pm. I work to live, not the other way around. It also means that I need to keep working on how to effectively disassociate myself from all of the daily crap so that I can empty my mind and focus on achieving that mind/body connection. At some point, you have to step back and breathe. Recharge. Reboot.

What do you do when you feel overwhelmed and/or disconnected?

~Namaste~

4 thoughts on “It’s Time to Reboot!

  1. I know about some of these things, especially not being able to turn my brain off and always being accessible. I don’t have any good advice for you, unfortunately. I’ve embraced being on 24/7, but I choose to keep things that way because I love what I do. My only thought we be to involve yourself in a new form of release instead of only looking to yoga and the gym to fulfill that. Something new is like a new relationship; it’s so good at first you can’t get enough of it. What else do you want to try? A new class at the gym? A marathon? Anything? Maybe focusing on the new, fun and exciting event, you will subconsciously fall back into the swing of the other things naturally?! I don’t know, just brainstorming with ya. Whatever the outcome I wish you luck. It’s can’t possibly be a good feeling.

    OH, what about letting some of those things go that you “have” to do. Maybe only running errands on particular days, stuff like that? Saying no to some things will free up time for other things like sleep and/or writing.

    • Yup, all good points. I think the feelings also stem from my body hurting – it’s been generating some lousy energy. But…. now that I know what the deal is, I’ll be on the path to healing in no time! πŸ™‚

  2. I am always “on” also. Even when I “claim” I’ll be taking a day off. I don’t think i truly ever disconnect. Even when I sleep my brain is still working. Maybe that’s why I am always tired and I have sleep disorders. I do small things to attempt to relieve my mind when I am overwhelmed. A warm bath with the lights out always helps. Music helps me too.

  3. Sistah! You have tapped into something that I believe is turning into an epidemic of our society!! We are all so overwhelmed these days, I’m surprised more people aren’t being committed due to stress and anxiety. I feel your sleep pain (a seasoned insomniac myself, also looking for the “OFF” button to my brain), your lack of motivation and energy to work out, and that little voice in myhead that’s pestering me that if I don’t go to the gym for one day, I will balloon and throw off all of the work I’ve done.
    In order to keep connected, and not get too overwhelmed with life, I have designated one day a week to myself…which I have appropriately named “Blob Tuesdays”. This is my one day a week that I take for myself and reboot my system. It starts with a trip to the gym (abs and spin), then a good 10 min chill in the steam room. Once home, I proceed to become a blob on the couch while I watch The Biggest Loser and eat my dinner. I turn the ringer off the BB, I put the computer away, and just chill, and enjoy my show, and my quiet time. Then I usually to bed early and read until I fall asleep.
    I guess the saddest part of it all, is that I can only do it one day a week….but I usually feel recharged, and ready for whatever comes next!

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

