Shadows & Tall Trees

When I came up with the title of this post, I was out walking the dog in the woods, hence the reference to ‘tall trees.’ I also happened to be shooting pics of shadows  (a little obsessively, I might add). 

This past weekend was Thanksgiving up here in Canada and as it happened, we had perfect weather. First thing to give thanks for. The temperatures were cool but the sun shone brightly, making my numerous dog walks quite enjoyable. I took advantage of the weather to take some photos when the title of this post came to me. I thought this post would be a simple one – minimum text and lots o’ pics but alas, this was not to be.

I’ve experienced some interesting moments lately and it occurred to me that the people in our lives can either be shadows or trees. The more I thought about it, the more I viewed ‘shadows’ as people who cast pretty little clouds over our heads because they are unhappy in their own lives – they may have regrets, are jealous (or envious) of what you have accomplished and therefore struggle to accept your happiness. Despite their efforts at portraying themselves as shiny happy people, they are miserable and want everyone around them to feel the same way they do. We try our best to dodge these clouds and the negativity that they bleed all over us because the more successful we are at escaping the clouds, the less power they have over us.  Similarly, I compare trees to the people in our lives who bring a whole lot of positivity. These people are truly happy with what they have been given and what they have accomplished even if they occasionally strayed from their chosen paths. They are the positive influences in our lives who support us and encourage us. They are happy with themselves and also want us to live happy lives.  They encourage us to pursue our dreams no matter how crazy these may be. The shadows discourage us from all of these things.

I’ve posted before about how you should never let other peoples’ problems become your own. You should surround yourself with positive influences and if that means kicking someone to the curb because they are a ‘shadow’ then so be it. ‘Nuff said.

Truth be told, I realized the above a while ago but hadn’t thought about the whole shadow versus tree thing. I am thankful that I have reached a point in my life where I can see the difference between the two, and for the most part, seek out the positive in the situations that I’m faced with. What about you? How have you cast away the clouds from your life?

On a less serious note, here are a few pics I took this weekend (you will notice that some of the shadow shots are not very flattering!).

 

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

I saved the best for last – these are truly flattering shots of me!

 

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

 

If you celebrated Thanksgiving this weekend, what are you thankful for?

Peace out!

A

 

9 thoughts on “Shadows & Tall Trees

  1. Those photos are lovely (I’ve been taking shadow photos lately too – they’re totally cool). I have to tell you I can make the Bedouin call myself…lol – and it will definitely scare the pants off of people – so only use it for good…lol.

    I’m loving your blog, and am totally adding it to my feedly.

    Peace,
    Michelle (Green Earth Bazaar) 😉

  2. I love your take on shadows and trees. Never quite thought of it that way but it makes perfect sense to me. Your pictures are absolutely gorgeous. Please keep sharing them. My favorites have to be the shadows though. YOU ROCK!

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING! Hope you had a great one. Our Thanksgiving is coming soon and we are a little nervous. Its our first Thanksgiving having to eat gluten free. I think we got it covered though. Glad you had a nice weekend and the weather was well behaved for ya.

    • LOL, how could I not share the shadow pics? In particular, my Sumo look? 😀 You will have to share your gluten-free experience! I have a particular diet I follow due to the IBS and going gluten-free is something I entertain from time to time 🙂

      • Your sumo look was my FAVE! 😉 Gluten free has been an experience for us. It was difficult at first because we had to try a bunch of different things not knowing what was good or not. Now that we know which products taste the best its pretty easy. My daughter had abdominal pain every day and is now doing much better. It has helped my quite a bit also. Eating out and at other peoples houses has been difficult. We have to be really careful when eating out but its possible. I’ll let you know how Thanksgiving goes. If you have any questions about it just let me know!

      • I can relate! For 2 years I was going by trial and error to see what I could and couldn’t eat. Now things are much better (and pain-free) as a result of all that food investigation 🙂

  3. Shadows and trees… I had never thought of other people’s energies that way, but I think you’ve put it very well. Beautiful photos – especially your own shadow pics!

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

