Running for the Cure

In May 2010, the Canadian Cancer Society posted these statistics relative to breast cancer in both men and women. That’s right – MEN as well as women, are affected by breast cancer each year. I was not aware that men could develop breast cancer until this week, and I was stunned. The following statistics were posted on the Canadian Cancer Society’s web site:

In 2010:

  • An estimated 23,200 women will be diagnosed with breast cancer and 5,300 will die of it.
  • An estimated 180 men will be diagnosed with breast cancer and 50 will die of it.
  • On average, 445 Canadian women will be diagnosed with breast cancer every week.
  • On average, 100 Canadian women will die of breast cancer every week.

In Quebec, approximately 6100 women are diagnosed with breast cancer every year.

Today, I achieved one of the goals I had set for 2010 – I participated in CIBC’s Run for the Cure by doing a 5K walk in Montreal. While I haven’t been personally affected by breast cancer, I feel that it’s important to support this cause, particularly since my family has been touched by other forms of cancer (there’s just no run/walk for those!).

It was the perfect day for the run/walk – Mother Nature pulled through with clear blue skies and lots of sunshine (though it was pretty cold – I had frost on my car windows when I left this morning!). The energy felt at the run site was fantastic, with approximately 20,000 men, women, children and dogs showing their support.  Here are some of the photos that I took today.

On the way to the run site – Olympic Stadium:

Photo: RAnnDomized

A few more pics taken on the way to the run site:

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Arriving at the run site… Hello!

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Opening ceremony:

Photo: RAnnDomized

Even the dogs dressed for the occasion:

Photo: RAnnDomized

My favorite ladies – the tap dancers!

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Even the HABs mascot Youpi came to show his support:

Photo: RAnnDomized

Starting the walk – this woman wrote “I am running for a future without breast cancer.”:

Photo: RAnnDomized

Here come the tap ladies!

Photo: RAnnDomized

In French, ‘sympathetic’ is ‘sympathique’ – this fellow got creative and called his team ‘Sein Patique.’ ‘Sein’ means ‘breast’ in French.

Photo: RAnnDomized

I think this is my favorite shot, though it doesn’t appear to be boob-related:

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

Photo: RAnnDomized

The finish line!

Photo: RAnnDomized

A small glimpse of the 20,000 supporters in Montreal:

Photo: RAnnDomized

The wall of hope (I was surprised – it was pretty small):

Photo: RAnnDomized

It was a great day, and I want to thank everyone who sponsored me this year. According to The Gazette, Montreal alone raised $2.1M this year!

Did any of you participate in a breast cancer run this year?

Please remember…

11 thoughts on “Running for the Cure

  1. Great post! And kudos & thanks to you for participating in a walk!! :> My grandmother is a survivor of almost fifteen years now and like you, there have been several other cancers to effect family & friends in our lives. Thanks for posting & sharing so many great photos of the event! :>

  2. I had such a GREAT time walking with you yesterday.

    Next year – tutus and boas are in order!

    Lovely pictures. So much better than my 10 eff-ing minutes of video of the ground.

  3. Great photos. I’m glad the weather was so nice for you. I’m in Minneapolis and we had a gorgeous day as well. We can’t do enough for the cause. I just got my mammogram the other day. Awareness is the key.

  4. I lived in Montreal for a short time back in the late 90s. This post made me feel a little bit nostalgic. Great photos!

    Also, I think this is such a wonderful cause! Huge applause for your efforts and generosity!

  5. Thanks so much for sharing this. It really moved me. I think that its great to bring about awareness of breast cancer, not only for women but for men as well. The pictures are fantastic and I’m glad you were blessed with the weather you had!

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

