This Week’s Outspiration

So remember how last week I was brimming with inspiration? Not so much, this week. It would be easy to blame myself for not getting any exercise in since last Saturday, but the fact that I suffered both arm and knee injuries since then mean that I don’t have to. Nor should I feel guilty about not working out this week even though I do. The other day I was driving home listening to the radio, and making up my own words to a song that I can’t remember – but the lyrics involved the size of my ass and my ass getting bigger. Nice. I really think that guilt is a chick thing. When do men ever feel guilty for not working out? They don’t! It’s OK for THEM to look like turds, but it’s not OK for us to look like turds. Total double standard.  Anyway, if I look at the bigger picture, stepping onto my mat would have been stupid. Hitting the gym for some cardio and leg work would have been stupider. In my defense, I did attempt yoga on Monday. My plan was to do yoga but exclude Dog pose since these put weight on my arms; yeah, that worked for about 8 minutes – and I didn’t exclude Dog pose because realistically, how on earth can I do flow sequences without Dog pose?! I also have a problem with half-assed workouts. So, 8 minutes in, I realized I would likely aggravate my arm injuries more then I would help them if I persisted with 90 minutes of yoga. I rolled up my mat in a huff, tossed it (actually, I think ‘threw’ might be a better word) into a corner, and stomped off to my room. Truly, I was irked. As for the gym (or power walking), I opted to hold off until this lame-ass knee was feeling back to normal. The fact that I have a new pair of runners taunting me, begging me for a try-out, is not helping. I haven’t been to the gym or power walked, and the runners are still sitting pretty in their box. Last night though, I put them on and walked around the house to satisfy myself. I pretended I was working out. Needless to say that my level of satisfaction left to be desired <insert grumbling here>.

So, every day this week I thought to myself “Oh, seems like my arms/knee are doing better – maybe tomorrow I can yoga/ power walk/ go to the gym.” Can you tell that I’m eager to get back to it? And now, here we are Friday, and I’m still waiting for my body to get its shit together so I can get back to my fitness. Last night, I planned to get up this morning and either go to the gym for some treadmill action (I need to try the new runners to make sure that my feet like them) OR go power walking. OK well, first of all, I slept in so no gym. And when I opened the blinds, it was pouring. Pouring! Bloody hell. I have therefore concluded that the fitness gods are conspiring against me this week… BUT I am determined to do something – anything – tomorrow. Yes, I am hopeful, and yes, I will even do it in the rain if I have to!

To go hand-in-hand with my lack of fitness, I’ve also been dealing with a lack of writing inspiration.  Since I’ve had more time to think this week, I’ve realized that my level of fitness goes hand-in-hand with how much writing I do and how inspired I feel to do it. I think the adrenalin creates inspiration! How’s that for motivation to a) work out and b) write? I have no excuse not to do either! And now that I’m writing again, I feel much happier, and more motivated to work out. And when I work out, I am more inspired to write. It’s a win-win situation.

What’s everyone been doing to stay motivated this week? How do you get over the ‘no inspiration’ hump?

Namaste

5 thoughts on “This Week’s Outspiration

  1. Someone once told me that writer’s block is self-imposed. I’m not sure if that’s true for everyone, but it is for me. So I just keep going. I write. And usually, the first pass is awful, but it helps get me where I need to go. I hope you find you way back to inspiration., and thanks for visiting on my SITS Day!

  2. Apparently the fitness gods are against you this week! lol. Sorry it didn’t work out. I wonder if there is any biology to the working out – inspired to write thing. I’ll have to check that out. I’ve been so incredibly busy this week that I don’t have the time to get UnMotivated, if that makes any sense.

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

