Ay-Oh, Let’s Go! To the Fall!

I hate to break it to you but summer is officially over. According to my calendar, it officially ended yesterday. Snap. And here I was, hopeful that summer would extend itself well into October, so that myself and 170,000 of my closest friends could Run for the Cure in fabulous weather (Have you sponsored me yet? If not, get moving!). I suppose there’s still hope – Montreal typically enjoys a second summer known as Indian Summer; this usually means that we are blessed with a final week or two of very hot, sunny weather. This of course takes place after we have reluctantly exchanged our Summer clothes for Fall clothes, and traded in our flip flops for shoes. Of course, with the strange global warming phenomenon that’s been happening, who knows if Indian Summer will present itself this year. I sure hope so – I’m defiantly still wearing flip flops despite the cooler weather.

While I love Summer, I also have a deep appreciation for Fall. The air changes from hot and muggy to cool and crisp, which means more outdoor power walks for me. During summer, I usually forgo power walking outdoors due to the heat and humidity, so this usually means walking indoors on a treadmill. Bo-ring! But in the Fall… well there is nothing I love more then hearing the crunch of leaves under my feet as I walk down tree-lined streets. Truth be told, every Fall, when I walk past neatly piled stacks of leaves, all I want to do is throw myself in them and roll around like I did when I was a kid. There is something about the smell of leaves that is so incredibly refreshing, so earthy. It is as though the earth is in the beginning stages of replenishing itself for the upcoming Winter months. Oh. My. God. Did I just say ‘Winter?’ Moving right along…

I also love to see the leaves change from green to golden yellow, then to orange, and finally to red. This is particularly beautiful to see as you are driving up North, where the tree population is quite vast in the more mountainous regions. As luck would have it, my folks live in the great big North, so the changing of the leaves is something I get to enjoy every year. My folks have quite a bit of terrain and many, many trees – if it were up to me, I would rake all of their leaves into one big pile, and leave it there. Then I would take a running leap off my new ‘yoga deck’ and land right in the middle of it! I don’t think dad will approve of this.

I think if I could narrow the seasons down to just two, I’d stick with Summer and Fall or Summer and Spring. While I’m quite accustomed to Canadian winters, I can certainly live without the crazy-ass temperature drops that I’m subjected to for 3 months out of the year.

What’s your favorite season and why? And more importantly, do you still like to roll around in a pile of crunchy leaves? 😉

6 thoughts on “Ay-Oh, Let’s Go! To the Fall!

  1. I’m always so glad to say goodbye to summer and winter. Fall is truly my favorite season. It’s utterly romantic to walk through the park with hubby when the leaves are falling.
    Thanks for joining in on my SITS discussion!

  2. My garden is surrounded by big old trees so each autumn I get to relive my youth by jumping into a pile of leaves so big I almost disappear. And it never gets old! You can’t beat leaping into leaves!

    We have Indian Summers in the UK too, they always turn up just after you put the winter duvet on your bed! But, autumn is my favourite season. The colours are beautiful.

    And it’s my birthday in the middle of it so that makes it more special!!!

  3. I absolutely love fall and am stoked it is arriving. No more three digit temperatures for me. If I had a crunchy pile of leaves right now I would absolutely roll around in them – for sure!

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

