C’est Bon!

It’s 7:30 a.m. on a fabulous Saturday morning. And I mean, superb! The sun is shining, the sky is a deep shade of blue. Mother Nature is summoning me this morning so I’ll be heading out for a power walk shortly. Last week I fell into lazy mode and boycotted the gym; on Monday, I had an internal conversation with myself that led to ac-shee-on! I decided that I had to be held accountable for my laziness, and the only person that I can truly be accountable to is myself. It simply will not do to listen to people talk about what they want to do, and what they fail to do because they’re lazy – this is not motivating. In fact, it encourages you to join them in their laziness, which I suppose makes them feel better because they’re not alone in their goal to do a whole lot of nothing. Not so with me! Despite my initial hemming and hawing, I started the week off on the right foot:

Monday: 60-minute hot yoga class

Tuesday: 1-hour of cardio, leg work and Abs

Wednesday: 70-minute power walk a.m./ 1-hour of weight training p.m.

Friday: 75-minute power walk a.m.

Today’s plan of action (POA) is TBD, simply because my power walks seem to be getting longer and longer. It’s a really beautiful morning and I think I’m going to go exploring. I might end up all the way into the city today (OK, this is an exaggeration, as it would take me an entire day to get from my place to the city)! Anyway, the plan is to do my cardio outside and since my arms are still sore from Monday’s yoga, I will skip the gym and do my leg work and Abs at home. Alas, I must forgo arm work again. I should’ve ignored my yoga instructor when she corrected my arm positioning in Down Dog last Sunday – she meant well I know, but I’m hyper-flexible and I’ve been doing Down Dog the same way for 4-5 years, with no pain.  Apparently the correct posture (i.e. not hyper-extending) does not thrill my arms at all.

Right, so believe it or not, the above was not the purpose of today’s post. As you will discover if you read this blog regularly, I get sidetracked a lot. I reckon it keeps the few readers that I’ve got on their toes.

My point today: My morning ritual involves making fresh coffee and then checking my emails and blogs while drinking said coffee. I was so thrilled to see an email from the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, notifying me that I have reached my fund-raising goal of $200! You should know that I suck at fund-raising,  and that I actually paid the registration fee in order to participate in the walk/ run (that way I could avoid fund-raising!).  I truly want to thank the fabulous women who so generously donated in support of this cause. There is still time to make a donation – I’ve increased my goal amount! Every bit helps no matter how big or small – it could be you or someone you know. Think about that – and stop ignoring my email!

What’s everyone doing today? And more importantly, who is participating in this year’s run? C’mon now, don’t be shy!

Cheerios & Frosted Flakes!

A

2 thoughts on “C’est Bon!

  1. My ‘today’ is nowhere near as healthy in outlook as yours. It will involve champagne, it will involve dinner, it will involve some good family girly time. I’m very much looking forward to it.

    The downside of course is that my saturday is typically indulgent. I’ve truly begun to ponder this. My life has been about indulgence in some respects, though certainly, many of those were tailored towards the avoidance of reality. But as you know only too well AT, my reality is no longer being avoided. So, I return to this question of indulgence. Am I feeling guilty about it? I think so. No, I know so.

    For me personally, I have a problem with this guilt. I don’t think I should feel guilty. I work hard and in the process of reconstructing every element of my life, I can’t help thinking I deserve the indulgences.

    But, the guilt persists. Its a bit of a bummer. And in that contect, todays post from you is awesome, and I’m full of guilt fuelled envy.

    • If it makes you feel better, I am treating myself to pizza tonight! The ‘rents are coming over. You have nothing to feel guilty about. Indulge yourself and enjoy it – within reason of course. I mean, don’t break the bank doing it LOL! It could be worse – you could have an addiction to an expensive workout line. Dear me, whatever shall I do? It motivated to work out so…. don’t I need more? 😉

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

