Remembering 9/11

Everyone remembers where they were on 9/11.

Like every other day, I was at work listening to CHOM FM when I first started to hear reports that the Twin Towers had been attacked by terrorist hijackers. The news spread quickly. Radios were switched on, Google, CNN and MSN were bombarded with hits as the world sought to confirm what had happened. We needed to know. My initial thought was that the news must be exaggerated – nothing of this magnitude had ever happened in my lifetime; no way could this be true. But as the day progressed, and all news stations focused on the attacks, I had to accept that yes, this in fact had happened. I remember feeling shock, disbelief, amazement. Awe. It was only when I saw the images on television and in newspapers that I began to understand the extent of what had happened at what’s now known as Ground Zero.

In the following days, I read the paper regularly – something I never do. I watched news reports and interviews, I saw disturbing images that I could not turn away from. I felt compelled to watch, to understand – maybe because it felt like a dream and I was hoping I’d wake up. Every day I cried for the victims that were in those towers – for the policemen, firefighters and EMT workers who toiled day and night to rescue someone – anyone, from the wreckage. I cried for the victims who had no means of escape, and who knew they were going to die as they felt the earth shaking beneath them, the towers swaying as they began to crumble. The friends and family members of those victims, who watched this happening on live television but could do NOTHING. These senseless attacks.

These attacks were felt by the world over. The feelings of sorrow and anger were not limited to America, though it is Americans who suffered the most. I didn’t know anyone who was directly affected by this tragedy, but have felt the pain and sadness nonetheless.

Let us take a moment to remember the victims of 9/11

To learn more about the 9/11 Memorial, or to donate, visit the 9/11 Memorial site.

Tribute in Light

Lady Liberty, 9/11 Memorial (Photo: RAnnDomized)

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

