Off the Top of My Head

This is about as random as it gets. For this week anyway.

Fridays seem to bring an influx of absolutely no inspiration, so perhaps I should swap Wordless Wednesday for Wordless Friday. The only problem is that I might have something to say on a Friday or on a Wednesday. This past week I had to forgo Wordless Wednesday, because as it turned out, I had plenty to say. In light of this (i.e. the pointless airing of my thoughts about which day should be wordless), I’m going to rename Wordless Wednesday to Wordless. Problem solved. Now I won’t be confined to being wordless on Wednesdays or Fridays.

Last night I treated myself to a long overdue pedicure. As luck would have it, the spa charged me twice and I only realized it this morning when looking at my online banking details. I called them at 9 a.m. and am still waiting for the manager to call me back. One way or another, these people are giving me my money. The pedicure was good but it wasn’t that good. I did appreciate the free wine and chocolate-covered strawberries though. Of course, if you consider the fact that I’ve paid for the service twice, it’s not so free.

Out of nowhere, my hip has been causing me some problems. Last night, I could barely walk, it hurt that much. I’m noticing an interesting trend here – when I have ‘lazy’ weeks and don’t work out, I somehow manage to injure myself doing…. well, nothing. This is not the first time this has happened to me. And of course, the injury always seems to be sustained the day before I plan to get back to it, which then leads me to feel stressed out about the fact that I can’t work out because you know, I’ve got to make up for one week’s worth of laziness. I’m sure there is some kind of strange karma involved here.

Martha Stewart really irritates me. She strikes me as being full of sh*t. I sense no sincerity from that woman.

People who always feel the need to talk about themselves without ever asking you how you are, or showing interest in what you’re doing, annoy me. Everyone is self-involved at one time or another, but there needs to be a mutual level of self-involvement, no? Also, people who never initiate anything. But perhaps that can be interpreted as “I don’t want to see you/hang out with you/talk to you.” Whatever. Seems like friendships these days are often a one-way street or friendships of convenience.

I’ve come to the conclusion that Facebook is quite possibly a socially acceptable form of voyeurism, which, coincidentally, feeds many peoples’ narcissistic side.

The perv next door is still living with his mother, and he’s been here since the end of May. When the hell is he going to leave already? Wasn’t being yelled at by the neighbor and being told this wasn’t his home clear enough? His latest activity involves sitting on the balcony in the dark, and saying ‘hello’, consequently scaring the shit out of me because I’d never notice he was there otherwise. I don’t know, but if I was in my 40s and living with my mother, and all I did was ride shirtless on my bicycle, I think my ego would take a hit.Β  Not to mention that I would go stir-crazy. I wonder if coughing is still his mating call.

Aren’t soap opera people supposed to be hot? If so, why is it that there are unattractive people on daytime television? I’m just wondering. Seems like they fall into one of two categories: too good-looking and perfect or ugly. I wonder how an actor feels when they are specifically hired to play the role of someone who is overweight. On one hand, it’s great that they are hired (‘they’ meaning actors in general) – I hear it’s tough to make it in the acting world.Β  And on the other well, I suppose it really comes down to how you feel about yourself. People can be beautiful regardless of shape or size. This reminds me of Hugo. Everybody loves Hugo.

I thank God every day for the creation of ear plugs. Those bright pink ones that look like they should glow in the dark.

And lastly, I have no idea what half the stuff on this blog does; what the hell are Trackbacks and Pingbacks? And what am I supposed to link them to? Live and learn I guess. I suppose I should be proud that I successfully got my widgets sorted out and linked my Twitter account to my blog all on my own. Amazing!

And this concludes my random thoughts for today. I’m going to hope that the hip is all good tomorrow so I can get to the gym and also do some hot yoga. That would be fabulous.

Have a great weekend!

A

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

