Simply. The. Best

It is my belief that we only develop an appreciation for the small things in life when we’re older. When I was a kid, I could care less about how blue the sky was, or how nice it might be to spend time with my mom. I was more interested in the latest U2 tape (yes people – tape) and new clothes than anything else. Lately, I find myself taking the time to appreciate the small things a lot more. I think this is partly because I’ve realized that I’m uninterested in complications – in any form. I’m looking to keep things simple.

Saturday morning I awoke feeling refreshed, and as I lay in bed listening to the sound of silence and thinking about how comfortable I was, I realized that I always sleep better when I’m home at the ‘rents. I could see the rays of sun poking through the blinds, and in the distance I could swear the deck was calling my name, so I jumped out of bed, eager to get outside. I’d been looking forward to practicing yoga all week because my dad recently extended the ‘porch’ into a full-on ‘deck’ and I couldn’t wait to take advantage of it. Outdoor yoga is one of my favorite things, and it just so happens that the deck faces East – prime location for morning Sun Salutations – and it’s surrounded by trees.

I sped past my mom with the dog in tow, and we both came to an abrupt halt in front of the patio door. I looked down at Tosca as she looked up at me, tail wagging, and I think we both agreed that this was a GOOD deck. I stepped outside in my PJs to sweep the morning dew and leaves away, and once that was done I lay my mat out facing East. I should probably mention that I changed out of my PJs and into some yoga gear before stepping onto my mat. As I did my first couple of Sun Salutations, I felt incredibly peaceful; I could hear the wind blowing through the trees, the leaves rustling, and the birds singing as I flowed through my Asanas. I felt the sun warm and soothing on my skin and with head tilted upward, I opened my eyes to blue sky and wispy clouds sweeping past me. Stray leaves fell around me every time the wind blew, and as I lay in final Savasanna with Tosca beside me, I was reminded of my Killer-boy, who always insisted on getting on the mat with me while I was practicing yoga. The constant power struggle for the mat often defeated the purpose of doing yoga, since both Killer and I would end up lying side by side in ‘Savasanna.’ I was trying to prove a point – that it was my mat, but Killer never bought into that (LOL).  He also wanted to do yoga and get his zen on.

After remaining in Savasanna for a while, I finally got up feeling super energized. Uh-oh… I rolled up my mat and went indoors to find my parents sitting in the living room chit chatting. I was hopping up and down and dancing to some song in my head, when I declared that if I could do yoga outside every morning, I would be in a great mood all day long.  This reminded me of a song that I wanted my mom to listen to, and I ran out of the room to get my iPod. I queued the song and handed the ear buds to my mom, who was rather challenged in getting them to stay in her ears. They kept falling out, she kept laughing and I eventually decided the ear bud situation likely wouldn’t get us anywhere so instead, I cranked up the volume on the Pod. A few seconds into the song I was back to dancing because you just can’t sit still listening to this song. Next thing I know, my mom bolts out of her seat and starts dancing around the living room, arms waving in the air, a big smile on her face and the occasional booty shake. My dad was sitting in his rocking chair watching the both of us with an amused smile on his face. For a moment, I’m sure he thought we might be crazy, but he likely remembered that this behavior is not at all unusual in our house! For those of you who are curious, the song in question is Home by Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros.

This was a fabulous start to my day and my weekend. Sometimes, it’s the small things that matter the most. We should take the time to live in each moment and appreciate the little things before they disappear, never to be seen again. Love the people you’re with – your family, your friends, your dogs (yes, I am a dog-lover!). Don’t take them for granted. One day you might wake up, and they might not be there anymore.

~A~

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

