Fakebook

Wikipedia defines Facebook as:

“…a social networking website launched in February 2004 that is operated and privately owned by Facebook, Inc., with more than 500 million active users in July 2010. Users can add people as friends and send them messages, and update their personal profiles to notify friends about themselves. Additionally, users can join networks organized by workplace, school, or college. The website’s name stems from the colloquial name of books given to students at the start of the academic year by university administrations in the US with the intention of helping students to get to know each other better. ”

As a Facebook (FB) user, my primary interest is keeping in touch with friends (real friends, not the people who ‘collect’ names to boost their friend numbers) and networking. Besides that, I will occasionally update my status, or check out a few groups I’m interested in. Typically, these groups belong to bloggers whose blogs I read outside Facebook. I openly admit that I rarely, if ever, check out other people’s FB pages – not even my own friends’. I figure if something big happens, someone’s going to tell me. If I comment on someone’s status, it’s because I saw their post on my Home page.  And sometimes I go on because I’m just plain bored.

After the initial thrill of FB wore off, I found myself feeling more and more exasperated by things like…

– People who feel compelled to comment on every single thing I post, even though some things do not merit a comment.
– People who feel compelled to comment on every single thing I post, and who also insist on getting the last word. Every time. My Wall is not a debating podium.
– People who start their own conversations with other people on my Wall. Pick up the phone and call each other – stop cluttering my Wall.
– People who ‘like’ every status update I post. Really? You like that I’m having a shitty day? How very thoughtful of you.
– Invitations to join this group, or that group. We will get back this one later.
– The opportunity to “buy” or “sell” my friends (OK, really? What are we, in the 17th-18th century?).
– Random men who send me friend requests (No, Mr. Kazakhstan, I will not be your bride).

Unfortunately, I am aware that some of the above points come with the territory, but let’s get back to my point about ‘this group and that group.’

What’s up with all the  people living in fantasy worlds? Apparently FB allows you to live your dreams… or something. You can own a cafe… you can own a farm – with animals! You can join the mafia, or even be a pirate if you want to. OK, maybe it’s me, but I fail to see the point of participating in a fake life. Is living your real life not interesting or satisfying enough?  Maybe I’m looking at this all wrong, or taking it too seriously (or not seriously enough)? It seems to me that more and more people are participating more actively in their Facebook lives, and less so in their ‘real’ lives.

If you’re involved in a car accident, do you really need to update your Facebook status BEFORE you call the cops or the ambulance? Where do you draw the line?

3 thoughts on “Fakebook

  1. I absolutely 100% agree on your FB blog. I think it’s been taken a step too far, like seriously; people posting “going to bed, good night” as their status, ok news flash to the rest of the world, no one cares!! People updating their status where they are and what they’re doing while they’re “supposedly” out with their significant other for an evening out without the kids; ok, are you more interested in having an evening out on the town, or updating your status to see how many people will “like” or comment?? Like seriously people, get with it!!

    Overall good blog A.T and I think this subscription thing consists of my checking off “send me site updates”, to which I’m about I’m about to do, right now!!

Speak y'all! Or forever hold your peace.

